A Real-Life Guide to
Lose Weight & Get Healthy

Buy the book
HARMONY
BOOKS

Drink Like A Lady? The Skinnygirl Margarita

38   June 26, 2012   ‹ Older     Newer ›

Skinny Girl Margarita Review

Despite what you may think, Snack Girl doesn’t spend a lot of time hanging out in liquor stores.

Burrrppp :)

One of my readers recently sent me to my local alcoholic beverage establishment with a request.

From Jackie:
Do you think you could do one on drinks for the 4th of July? I have seen the Skinny Girl ads & think hmmm, but would I be better off with a Mike's hard Cranberry Light.

Looking to join the fun, but keep with the smaller waist line.

Yep, sounds reasonable to me. But, I didn’t know what she was talking about until I asked the young man who sells kegs to college students about Skinnygirl. I was feeling quite sheepish when I asked. “Do you sell something called Skinny Girl?”

He replied, “We sell A LOT of Skinnygirl here. We can’t keep it on the shelves.”

Where have I been? I plunked down my $14 (ouch) and purchased the best seller of the lot the “Skinnygirl Margarita”. And, I was ready to hate it.

You see, I have had a margarita experience involving turquoise water and white sand that will be one of the apexes of my short life. How can this bottled stuff even compare?

Skinnygirl drinks are the creation of Bethany Frankel who was made famous by her appearance on “The Real Housewives of New York” on Bravo. Ummmm, yeah, so now I have another reason to hate it because I have nothing in common with Bethany Frankel.

For example, I own a 1984 Honda Accord that I actually like to drive. She probably wouldn’t ride in anything later than a 2011 BMW. I, sometimes, go camping. She thinks a Best Western is camping. I could continue but I bet the Bethany Frankel fans are going to start flaming me.

So, I tasted the margarita, and I pronounce it very drinkable. In a shocking moment, I said to my husband, “I would actually drink this.” What? Well, it isn’t sweet. It has a good balance between lime and tequila and I don’t have to mix anything.

There are 37.5 calorie in 1.5 ounces of this drink. The alcohol in this drinks is 12.7% which is comparable to wine. Four ounces is a glass of wine - so for four ounces you are drinking 94 calories - which IS skinny for a margarita.

What she left out is all the sugar, so if you like your margarita really sweet you are not going to like this concoction.

Now for the down side (other than the price) - there isn’t an ingredient list included on the bottle or the website. The bottle says:

All natural, lightly sweetened with agave nectar, and made with premium Blue Agave clear tequila.

Which sounds good except that Whole Foods pulled it off their shelves because it includes “sodium benzoate” as a preservative. It doesn’t meet Whole Foods’ quality standard.

How did Bethany respond to Whole Foods’ removal of her product?

“I’m not making wheatgrass here. If I could put an agave plant and some limes on a shelf I would. [The Skinnygirl Margarita] is as close to nature as possible, while still being a shelf stable product.” TIME Magazine

Of course you would! We could all suck on agave plants instead of a tequila bottle.

My take is that these are a good for people who are trying to cut calories and love margaritas. I would add some fresh lime juice to make them really pop.

But, you can make something very similar by just pouring tequila over ice and adding fresh lime juice and a drop of agave nectar. It will taste better and save you some dough.

If you like your drinks super sweet, you are out of luck.

For the teenagers who read this site, Snack Girl advocates waiting until the legal drinking age to indulge in alcoholic beverages.


Other posts you might like:

Best Light BeerThe Skinny on Light Beer

Guess what I did yesterday? BUUUUURRRRRPPPP.... read more

Cucumber Orange WaterYou Don't Need Sugar For A Refreshing Summer Drink

It is FINALLY beginning to heat up here in the middle of nowhere and Snack Girl loves cold drinks when it is hot outside. read more




First 20 Comments: [ see all 38 ]

I think I will go with what Whole Foods thinks on that one!

Thanks for being the voice of sanity.

Headant on June 26, 2012

Thanks for the info! I don't mind trading a bit of shelf stability for lower calories, but that's just me.

I'm struggling to lose weight, so I appreciate a low-calorie alcoholic drink that's easy. Unscrew the top, drink. Perfect.

Melissa2 on June 26, 2012

Thanks for the post, I have actually contacted them several times asking if their products are gluten-free with zero response, which I find irritating & ignorant, I actually watch her show, but would never buy her product w/out an ingredient list & no response on whether it's actually safe, or not.

Colette Bell on June 26, 2012

Hungry Girl has an amazing Margarita recipe

merrill on June 26, 2012

Can you make some recommendations on non-alcoholic wines?

Anne on June 26, 2012

Too funny! I just purchased my first bottle yesterday. Target carries Skinny Girl (under $14).

Cheers!

Alexis on June 26, 2012

If I am craving a Margarita,I just mix in around 1.5-2 ounces of tequila,ice,club soda,fresh lime juice and a little Stevia (I know Snack Girl is not crazy about Stevia but if you're cutting sugar or calories it's ok for some.) no salt. I do something similar for mojito cravings but replace tequila with rum and add mint.

brandy on June 26, 2012

Does it have artificial sweetener? I can't have fake sugar.

Leah on June 26, 2012

Thanks for being so darn Quick Lisa ~ You Rock!!!

I am going to get it for the 4th. =)

According to Skinny Girl email I finally got back ~ it is: Skinnygirl Margarita Weight Watchers Point calculation. Skinnygirl Margarita has a value of 1 Weight Watchers Point. The PointsPlus™ were calculated by Beam Inc. and not endorsed by Weight Watchers International, Inc. I have included the nutritional information listed below:
Skinnygirl® Margarita
Serving Size: 1.5 fl. Oz. (Average Analysis)Calories: 37.5
Carbohydrates: 1.43
Fat: 0
Protein: 0.07
Fiber: 0
Sugars (g): 1.4
Skinnygirl Margarita does not contact any artificial sweeteners. Calories in our products are stated in calories per ounce of liquor. Carbohydrates are stated in grams per ounce of liquor.

Jackie on June 26, 2012

Skinny Girl Sangria also rocks!! I just add some cut-up fruit and ice. It's really good!!!

Gayle on June 26, 2012

Good information to know. I"m going to try my hand in making my own margarita!

Jennifer @ Peanut Butter and Peppers on June 26, 2012

Sounds tasty.

But sodium benzoate is actually pretty dangerous. When mixed with ascorbic acid (Vitamin C), it produces benzene. The FDA says it's at "harmless" levels but I still don't eat or drink anything with sodium or potassium benzoate in it.

Benzene is a carcinogen; it causes cancer. With all the accidental exposure I can run across in a given day, I do not want it in my food or drinks!

Crysta on June 26, 2012

I honestly couldn't stand it because it was just too tart, and I ended up adding a packet of Splenda to my glass. I never thought of your take of making your own Skinny Girl margarita. I might have to try this with the bestie because my husband doesn't want anything to do with the Skinny Girl.

Randomly Me on June 26, 2012

I've made something that was also called Skinny Girl margarita, but was different (maybe it's the Hungry Girl one referred to above?) - tequila, lime juice and Crystal Light lemonade. It's really not half bad.

Jennifer on June 26, 2012

I have a recommendation! It's become my favorite drink of late - not that I'm a big drinker, of course...lol.

I just take 2 ounces of organic Rain vodka, put it in a big (I have a 20 oz glass that's perfect for this) glass, add most of a Vitamin Water 0 (wish Snack Girl would review these - they have the sugar alcohol sweetener and truvia, so nothing fake), and then a little club soda. It tastes kind of like Sunny D, and is around 100 calories (all from the vodka), so not as low as this skinny girl stuff, but also no benzene (bonus!lol). It's light and keeps you hydrated, which I love, and since it takes a while to drink, I don't find myself having 3 drinks instead of 1. Highly recommended!

Stacie on June 26, 2012

I hated the stuff. Poured it down the drain. I don't like wasting food or money but I thought this stuff was rank. Also, Beam's calculation for Points Plus may be off. WW points for alcohol have gone WAY up sinc P+ was introduced. The calculator does not work properly because of the alcohol. Proceed with caution!

PJ on June 26, 2012

I was sooo excited to try it out because I liked the idea of a low-cal easy marg but I found it to be a huge letdown. First off, the price. Eee gads! A bit much for the amount you get. Secondly, rot gut city! I didn't want to finish it because it hurt my tummy so much. No thanks. I'll make my own.

Anna on June 26, 2012

I've always liked Bethenny Frankel and really enjoy her SkinnyGirl products. Her original recipe for SkinnyGirl Margarita's (before producing a product that she could sell for everyone to enjoy) was:

- 2 ounces clear premium tequila, Bethenny prefers Patron Silver (count 1, 2 while you pour, no need for measuring)
- 1/2 lime, juice of
- splash Grand Marnier or bols triple sec

It's really a great, more healthy, alternative to a regular margarita.

Bethenny has always also promoted only have 1 or 2 drinks when you are out and drinking lots of water in between. She promotes a more healthy lifestyle, not just dieting. If you haven't read her book, Naturally Thin, you really should. It's an easy, fun read that really makes you rethink the way you eat and helps you balance your food out everyday. It helps you not feel bad for eating a doughnut, ice cream, or a bagel.

Based on some of her other "skinny"cocktail recipes I was inspired to create one of my own using a shot of coconut vodka, fresh lime juice, and topped with sparkling water or club soda. So good and refreshing!

Stacy on June 26, 2012

Maybe the solution is to drink Margaritas (real ones) only when you are on a short vacation south of the border. Of course, if you live there, you really have a problem.

Marilyn on June 26, 2012

Great review! I'd heard about SkinnyGirl and figured I'd be better off making my own.

Elena on June 26, 2012

See all 38 Comments


Add a comment:

(required)

(required, never published)

(optional)


Welcome! I’m Lisa. I write about simple snacks, healthy recipes, and products that help me WIN my battle with donuts!

100+ Healthy Snack Ideas

Get new posts by email
 

SNACK GIRL TO THE RESCUE!

A Real-Life Guide to Losing Weight and Getting Healthy with 100 Recipes Under 400 Calories

Read the First Chapter

Inspirational Advice

100 Recipes Under 400 Calories

I will show you how small, easy tweaks can change your lifestyle to be healthier and happier.

  • Want to avoid the office donuts? Chapter 3: Everyday Temptations
  • Need to unstick your butt from the couch? Chapter 5: Exercise
  • After a stressful day are your best friends Ben & Jerry? Chapter 4: Emotional Eating
  • Know you need to eat more vegetables? Chapter 2: Healthy Cooking

With 100 recipes for fun, quick, and affordable meals and snacks—all under 400 calories and Weight Watchers friendly. The recipes have been tested by home chefs and are delicious, easy, and simple, most have never been published on Snack-Girl.com.

Find out more...